Citizen kaNO at the MoMA

photo

I’ve been going to Art museums since I was a kid, a credit I owe entirely to the NYC Public School system. Those class trips had a profound influence on what I do till this day. As a kid one of my favorite parts of the trip was ending up in the gift shop checking out books and souvenirs.

photo copy

The Museum of Modern Art is one of my favorite art museums in NYC. While back home on a short trip, I managed to land a meeting with one of the MoMA Design and Book Store buyers. The meeting resulted in them officially carrying my book –“CITIZEN KANO, The Art of The Hustle”!

photo copy 2

The MoMA Design and Book store is located in the actual Museum of Modern Art on 11 W53rd Street in midtown. The museum averages 2.5 million visitors a year, so I’m definitely psyched about the exposure!

CK-book-at-MoMAFront and center with some really good company! I’d be fronting really hard if I said I wasn’t super psyched about this. For those of you who don’t have the book, it has forwards by Jackson Publick creator of Adult Swim’s The Venture Brothers, super cartoonist Stephen Destefano and Ray Wong from Intricate Concepts.

Picture_3CITIZEN KANO is the first official published collection of my work, mainly capturing my works from 2007/08. This book has a little bit of everything, character designs, illustrations, paintings, Graff sketches, toy designs and toy customs.

IMG_1005

The book retails for $25 USD, if you don’t have a copy yet, show your support and pick one up from the MoMA store the next time you visit the Museum 😉

A special thank you to Brand Studio Press for making the book happen and to my awesome sister Izay for snapping these pics for me.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

